Sandra White MSP for Glasgow Kelvin

16 Community Groups in Glasgow Reaping Benefits of Land Reform

Scroll down to content

New Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe) figures reveal [16 community groups in Glasgow now own their own land.

Just under 500 community groups in Scotland have benefited from the SNP’s progressive land reform policies that help enable communities control their own destiny. While the majority of beneficiaries are in rural areas, it is important to note the extension of the £10m Scottish Land Fund beyond rural communities to help urban communities buy community assets.

The SNP Government is well on its way to reaching the One Million Acres of Community Ownership target by 2020.

Commenting, SNP MSP for Glasgow Kelvin, Sandra White said:

 “While it’s fantastic that Scotland’s ground breaking land reform has brought over half a million acres of land into community ownership – it’s even more impressive when you consider the human impact of this reform with nearly 500 community groups now in charge of their own destiny in Scotland.

“People are well and truly at the heart of the SNP’s land reform efforts that enable communities to thrive and make decisions about places that would often otherwise be lying derelict – and this is at the very heart of our community empowerment strategy that is aiming to make Scotland a more prosperous and fairer place to live.

“In my constituency in Glasgow, land reform has empowered 16 community groups to bring community assets into community ownership.

“Anything we can do to reverse the depopulation trend in Scotland and encourage more people to live and work in Scottish communities should be encouraged, especially in the face of a damaging Tory hard Brexit. And land reform is a key vehicle to do this and to build stronger, more sustainable and attractive communities across Scotland.”



SPICe figures have revealed that in total – 494 community groups in Scotland now own land.  Sizes range from 0.01 acres to 92,000 acres. Below is a breakdown by local authority area:

Aberdeenshire 26
Angus 2
Argyll & Bute 77
Clackmannanshire 2
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar 41
Dumfries & Galloway 18
East Ayrshire 12
East Dunbartonshire 1
East Lothian 4
East Renfrewshire 1
Edinburgh 5
Fife 12
Glasgow 16
Highland 124
Inverclyde 7
Midlothian 6
Moray 28
North Ayrshire 17
North Lanarkshire 3
Orkney 23
Perth & Kinross 17
Scottish Borders 17
Shetland 14
South Ayrshire 2
South Lanarkshire 6
Stirling 6
West Dunbartonshire 4
West Lothian 3
Grand Total 494

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s